The Log Cabin & Delaney House Always One Step Ahead

  

 

A few weeks ago I attended an event called Modern Love at the Log Cabin.  It was well attended (over 350 people) and very informative. Four wedding experts: David Tuttera, Emily Anderson, Bernadette Coveney Smith and Lynda Houghtaling participated and discussed what’s hot and new for this years wedding season. 

Trends in weddings change rapidly.  As a wedding professional, going to Modern Love was an opportunity for me to talk with the experts, sample food and visually see what local florists and cake decorators have in store this wedding  season. I walked away with valuable information that I can share with my clients. 

Every display was beautiful and unique.  Throughout the evening  I found myself gravitating back to these two displays: 

Modern Tuxedo is the name of this table display created by florist Ruth Loiseau from Suffield, Connecticut and Beth DeGray from the Log Cabin &  Delaney House.  I love the simple and classy elegance using black.  The flowers provide just enough color to “pop” the table. People sitting at the table don’t have to yell or look around a large centerpiece to be heard. 

 This Four-Tiered Square Rose Cake was decorated by Durochers Florist.  White and red is timeless, classic, and declares love in a colorful subtle way. People can be creative by choosing petals that can be color dyed to match the bridal theme.  As beautiful as the display looked the caked tasted amazing as well. 

I was able to have a great conversation with David Tuttera.  I asked him what his thoughts were about the role of a wedding disc jockey. He likes his DJ’s not to be the center of attention and he told me that the role of the DJ is to keep the party hopping.  I Love this guy. 

DJ Lori B with David Tutera

Comments are closed.